ExpiredAITPM Queensland Branch Annual Breakfast – Road Safety

  • 23/05/2018
    7:00 am - 9:00 am

Queensland AITPM Branch and SMEC are pleased to present Dennis Walsh, General Manager of Land Transport Safety, Department of Transport and Main Roads and David Bobbermen, Austroads Safety Program Manager.


Road Safety in Queensland

Dennis will outline the direction that Road Safety is taking in Queensland.

Dennis is the General Manager of Land Transport Safety and is responsible for overseeing the delivery of a range of services providing safety and resilience of the Queensland Transport system in road and rail operations. This includes program management of $0.5B Infrastructure Program, management of the policy agenda and delivery of the community engagement and communication program. Dennis has worked across traffic and transport planning, road safety, road operations and Intelligent Transport Systems (ITS).  He has contributed to a range of national groups, and is the Queensland Director on the ANCAP Board. Dennis is a board member and the Vice President of ITS Australia. He is current chair of the Austroads National Co-operative ITS and Autonomous Vehicle Steering Committee and industry reference group.


Are road design decisions better made in network planning or project delivery?

David will outline the importance of making road design decisions in the planning phase to achieve the best safety outcome. This role will involve competently applying road design standards for various safety attributes and treatments on a consistent network-wide basis early in the road management cycle. This is so there are no surprises for drivers and the opportunity to achieve the safest network is not lost in lieu of the safest project.  This is expected to be a critical element of the National Road Safety Action Plan 2018-2020.

As the Austroads Safety Program Manager, David is working with practitioners across all jurisdictions to share best practice and make a significant step change to improve road safety performance across Australia and New Zealand. With all road jurisdictions under significant pressure to be more efficient in an environment of fiscal constraints, David’s focus is to refine and simplify practice, specifically focused on road authorities which are time-poor, and to leave no stone unturned in the endeavour to save lives.1


Registrations close 5pm Wednesday 16 May and places are limited so we encourage you to register quickly.

The Event is sponsored by SMEC

Who’s attending?

  •  Peter Bilton
  •  Tim Boxall
  •  Ryan Bradley
  •  Ellen Brodrick
  •  Ben Cove
  •  Nathan Durnin
  •  Phil Evans
  •  Michael Gillies
  •  Mario Greco
  •  Thomas Grohovaz
  •  Derrick Hitchins
  •  Gi Hong
  •  Karen Hooper
  •  Lydia Isokangas
  •  David Johnston
  •  Caralyn Jordan-Williams
  •  Martin Jordan-Williams
  •  Shane Kelley
  •  Alex Kelly
  •  Josie Kelly
  •  Sanduni Kossinna
  •  Douglas Lee
  •  Trefor Mathew
  •  Julie McEvoy
  •  Andrew Norton
  •  Michael Oliver
  •  Kirstin Palmer
  •  Jeremy Parsons
  •  Brandon Peij
  •  Sigrid Pembroke
  •  Michael Pickerill
  •  Andrew Pine
  •  Marty Prowse
  •  Noah Prowse
  •  Hannah Richardson
  •  Rhiannon Rutledge
  •  Pooya Saba
  •  Damien Scutt
  •  Saroj Shrestha
  •  Jay Shukla
  •  Cameron Sims
  •  Preeti Singh
  •  Janet Smith
  •  Dennis Stockwell
  •  David Sulejic
  •  Dan Sullivan
  •  Daniel Suman
  •  Megan Tam
  •  Sheridan Tanzer
  •  Alec Tattersall
  •  Christine Thai
  •  Kevin Toomey
  •  Ronja Trapp
  •  Kyriakos Tyrologos
  •  Rachel Urquhart
  •  Benjamin Vardon
  •  Michelle Wang
  •  Alex Williams



64 Adelaide Street, Brisbane, Queensland, 4000, Australia

1 reply
  1. John.Dudgeon
    John.Dudgeon says:

    Morning Dennis and David
    I would love to have attended to listen to what you are saying and congratulate you on the initiatives you are progressing.
    In my absence best wishes for your work and on the day.
    John Dudgeon

Leave a Reply

Want to join the discussion?
Feel free to contribute!

Leave a Reply